Reboot Complete. Begin Sequence.

So it’s here! The waiting is over and the Fall quarter is just hours away. Today I attended the orientation session welcoming all incoming M.Arch students (Go class of 2014!). We did the usual routine: distributed information, discussed classes, and went over general expectations about the program. Pretty basic stuff. But even still I was at the edge of my seat the whole two and a half hours as I kept thinking to myself, “Yes! I am here and I am a graduate student.”

There was something about being in that room that just filled me with happiness. Maybe it’s the fact that I was the first in my family to attend college and now here I am a grad student; or the fact that throughout the last two years I doubted my capacity to get to this very point. Or maybe it’s the fact that I was sitting in that room knowing that my fees are not yet paid and that I have no idea where I would get the money for the second and third quarter but  still feeling happy knowing that out of all the applicants they chose me. The overwhelming happiness and humbling experience really made me reflect and think about all the people who have helped me, about those who have believed in me and those who have pushed me to get here.

This quarter is just beginning and I’m anxious to experience every moment possible. I believe in the power of education, as cliché as that may be. But more so I believe in the value of pursuing one’s dreams. I’ve realized one has to be courageous to dream and make dreams come true. It’s easy to stay with the ‘known’ and the comfort of a routine, but to venture beyond the boundaries of our daily lives and fight for one’s dreams really takes a bit of courage.

Today I left my first ‘corporate’ job and leaving was very hard for me, but I’m happy knowing that I left to follow a dream and what I hope will  soon become my passion in life.

Leave a Reply

